

The 2011 Abbott
Chemistry
Lectures

March 24th & 25th, 2011

Thursday, March 24th, 7:00 PM
Abbott Hall Room 101
"Our Energy Future. Science and Technology
Challenges in the 21st Century."

Friday, March 25th, 12:00 PM Abbott Hall Room 138 "Water Oxidation. Solar Fuels from Sunlight."

Dr. Thomas J. Meyer Arey Distinguished Professor of Chemistry University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill



Thomas J. Meyer rejoined the faculty of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as Arey Professor of Chemistry on July 1, 2005. He is Director of the UNC Energy Frontier Research Center in Solar Fuels and Next Generation Photovoltaics. In 2000 he was named Associate Director for Strategic Research at the Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico. From 1994 to 1999, he was Vice Chancellor for Graduate Studies and Research and Kenan Professor of Chemistry at UNC.

At Los Alamos he was responsible for oversight and management of a large part of the R&D portfolio including research in support of the Laboratory's Nuclear Weapons, Threat Reduction, and Energy and Environment

Programs. He also oversaw industrial interactions and economic development, intellectual property, educational programs, the Energy and Environment Council, and LANL program offices in Science, Energy and Environment, and Nuclear Technology and Applications. At UNC, he oversaw a graduate and professional student program of over 8000 students and a research portfolio of more than \$300 million. He led planning efforts that resulted in campus wide initiatives in genomics and bioinformatics, Arts Carolina, enhanced graduate student support from the State of North Carolina, and through a bond issue for the UNC Science Complex and other campus construction projects.

After receiving a BS from Ohio University in 1963 Meyer received a Ph.D. from Stanford in 1966 with Henry Taube as his research mentor. He was a NATO postdoctoral fellow at University College, London in 1967, joined the faculty at UNC in 1968, was promoted to Associate Professor in 1972, Full Professor in 1975, Smith Professor in 1982 and Kenan Professor in 1987. He was the Head of Chemistry from 1985 to 1990, Chair of the Curriculum in Applied Sciences from 1994 to 1997 and Vice Chancellor/Vice Provost for Graduate Studies and Research from 1994 to 1999. He served on the North Carolina Board of Science and Technology, the Executive Committees of the North Carolina Biotechnology Center, the Research Triangle Institute, the Triangle University Center for Advanced Study Inc., and on the Board of Associated Universities Inc. He has served on the Boards of the Mind Institute, the International Informatics Society, the National Center for Genome Research, the Coronado Ventures Forum, the Science and Technology External Advisory Board of Sandia National Laboratory and the Commission on Higher Education for the State of New Mexico. He is currently a member of the Executive Committee of the Research Triangle Energy Consortium.

Meyer is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has won many awards for his research in chemistry and was awarded the Order of the Long Leaf Pine for service to the State of North Carolina in 1999. He has published over 590 papers, holds three patents, and has been one of the most highly cited chemists in the world.

George A. Abbott, 1874-1973



Dr. George Alonzo Abbott, Professor Emeritus at the University of North Dakota, had a long and fruitful career of service to the State of North Dakota and the science of Chemistry. He was born July 7, 1874, in Alma, Illinois. Dr. Abbott received both the B.S. and M.A. pro merito from DePauw University. From 1896 until 1904 he taught chemistry in high schools in Evansville, Indiana; Duluth, Minnesota; and Indianapolis, Indiana. In 1903, through a contact with Professor Talbot, he received the Austen Research Fellowship at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Under the guidance of A. A. Noyes, Professor of Physical Chemistry at M.I.T., he received the Ph.D. in 1908. In this first class of doctorates in chemistry were such notables as Edward Washburn, Charles Kraus and Richard Tolman. Dr. Abbott joined the chemistry staff of the North Dakota Agricultural College (North Dakota State University) in 1909. In 1910 he was appointed Professor and

Chairman of the Department of Chemistry at the University of North Dakota. His devotion to teaching and the application of chemistry for the betterment of North Dakota was one of his outstanding contributions. His interests in quality water and in natural products such as lignite, for which North Dakota is recognized, gave him national recognition. For half a century he was the only toxicologist in a wide area of the upper midwest. He found time to do a weekly radio program "Science from the Sidelines" which was broadcast for over twenty years. Professor Abbott was a founder and charter member of the North Dakota Academy of Science. He was a member of the Red River Valley Section of the American Chemical Society, a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemists, member of Sigma Xi, and a charter member of the University of North Dakota Phi Beta Kappa chapter. Dr. Abbott retired from administration in 1948 and from teaching in 1952. He continued toxicological work until 1970.

The George A. Abbott Lectureship was established by gifts from the University of North Dakota Alumni.

University of North Dakota, Chemistry Department Abbott Hall, 151 Cornell Street Grand Forks, ND USA http://arts-sciences.und.edu/chemistry/index.cfm

