#### **PREVIOUS**

#### GEORGE A. ABBOTT LECTURERS

1963 Dr. Nelson Leonard, University of	1963	Dr.	Nelson	Leonard.	University	v of	Illinois
--	------	-----	--------	----------	------------	------	----------

- 1964 Dr. Robert West, University of Wisconsin
- 1965 Dr. Robert Parry, University of Michigan
- 1966 Dr. Ralph G. Pearson, Northwestern University
- 1967 Dr. Harold J. Bernstein, N.R.C. Ottawa, Canada
- 1968 Dr. Edward L. King, University of Colorado
- 1969 Dr. David N. Hume, Mass. Institute of Technology
- 1970 Dr. Ronald Breslow, Columbia University
- 1971 Dr. Arnold C. Wahl, Argonne Laboratory
- 97.2 Dr. John L. Margrave, Rice University
- 973 Dr. Cheves Walling, University of Utah
- 1974 Dr. Fred McLafferty, Cornell University
- 1975 Dr. Daryle H. Busch, Ohio State University
- 976 Dr. Hans H. Jaffe, University of Cincinnati
- 1977 Dr. Roald Hoffmann, Cornell University
- 1978 Dr. H.C. Brown, Purdue University
- 1979 Dr. Leo A. Paquette, Ohio State University
- 1980 Dr. Robert F. Sievers, University of Colorado
- 1981 Dr. Dietmar Seyferth, Mass. Institute of Technology
- 1982 Dr. Koji Nakanishi, Columbia University
- 1983 Dr. Melvin Calvin, University of California Berkeley
- 1984 Dr. Gabor A. Somorjai, University of California Berkeley
- 985 Dr. Harry B. Gray, California Institute of Technology
- 1986 Dr. Allen J. Bard, University of Texas at Austin
- 1987 Dr. William J. Bailey, University of Maryland
- 1988 Dr. Mark S. Wrighton, Mass. Institute of Technology
- 1989 Dr. Peter B. Dervan, California Institute of Technology
- 1990 Dr. Robert H. Grubbs, California Institute of Technology
- 1991 Dr. Andrew Streitwieser, Univ. of California Berkeley
- 1992 Dr. Marye Anne Fox, University of Texas at Austin
- 1994 Dr. Kendall N. Houk, University of California, LA
- 1995 Dr. Edward Yeung, Iowa State University
- 1997 Dr. Henry F. Schaefer, III, University of Georgia
- 1999 Dr. Tobin J. Marks, Northwestern University
- 2000 Dr. Paul A. Wender, Stanford University
- 2002 Dr. Samuel H. Gellman, University of Wisconsin
- 2003 Dr. Victor J. Hruby, University of Arizona
- 2004 Dr. William Miller, University of California Berkeley
- 2005 Dr. Barry Carpenter, Cornell University
- 2006 Dr. Malcolm Chisholm, The Ohio State University

University of North Dakota Chemistry Department Abbott Hall Room 236 151 Cornell Street Stop 9024

## The University of North Dakota Department of Chemistry

invites you to

# The 2007 Abbott Chemistry Lectures



given by

### Dr. Catherine Fenselau

Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
University of Maryland

April 26 & 27, 2007

### Abbott Lectures, 2007

### LECTURE 1

Thursday April 26, 7:00 PM

"Airborne Microorganisms:

Detect to Protect"

### LECTURE 2

Friday April 27, 12:00 PM

"Proteomics: The Genome was Easy"

### Catherine Fenselau

Catherine Fenselau is professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Maryland, and a member of the Greenebaum Cancer Center at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. Her current research program uses proteomics strategies to study the mechanisms by which cancer cells become resistant to anti-cancer drugs. She is a leader in the development of mass spectrometry for rapid identification of airborne microorganisms. She is associate editor of Analytical Chemistry and was the founding editor of Biomedical Mass Spectrometry (now Journal of Mass Spectrometry). She has received both national and international awards for her scholarship and for her scientific leadership. Fenselau grew up in Nebraska, received her A.B. from Bryn Mawr College in 1961 and earned a Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1965.

# George A. Abbott 1874-1973

Dr. George Alonzo Abbott, Professor Emeritus at the University of North Dakota, had a long and fruitful career of service to the State of North Dakota and the science of Chemistry. He was born July 7, 1874, in Alma, Illinois. Dr. Abbott received both the B.S. and M.A. pro merito from DePauw University. From 1896 until 1904 he taught chemistry in high schools in Evansville, Indiana; Duluth, Minnesota; and Indianapolis, Indiana. In 1903, through a contact with Professor Talbot, he received the Austen Research Fellowship at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Under the guidance of A. A. Noyes, Professor of Physical Chemistry at M.I.T., he received the Ph.D. in 1908. In this first class of doctorates in chemistry were such notables as Edward Washburn, Charles Kraus and Richard Tolman. Dr. Abbott joined the chemistry staff of the North Dakota Agricultural College (North Dakota State University) in 1909. In 1910 he was appointed Professor and Chairman of the Department of Chemistry at the University of North Dakota. His devotion to teaching and the application of chemistry for the betterment of North Dakota was one of his outstanding contributions. His interests in quality water and in natural products such as lignite, for which North Dakota is recognized, gave him national recognition. For half a century he was the only toxicologist in a wide area of the upper midwest. He found time to do a weekly radio program "Science from the Sidelines" which was broadcast for over twenty years. Professor Abbott was a founder and charter member of the North Dakota Academy of Science. He was a member of the Red River Valley Section of the American Chemical Society, a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemists, member of Sigma Xi, and a charter member of the University of North Dakota Phi Beta Kappa chapter. Dr. Abbott retired from administration in 1948 and from teaching in 1952. He continued toxicological work until 1970.

The George A. Abbott Lectureship was established by gifts from the University of North Dakota Alumni.